1 2019-11-14T00:21:27  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has joined ##taproot-bip-review
  2 2019-11-14T00:41:39  *** HighOnBtc has joined ##taproot-bip-review
  3 2019-11-14T00:42:57  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
  4 2019-11-14T01:31:00  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has quit IRC
  5 2019-11-14T01:40:30  <sipa> q&a in 20 minutes?
  6 2019-11-14T01:43:45  <aj> yep
  7 2019-11-14T01:44:11  <aj> sipa: you able to be around for the full hour? i'll need to get on a plane part way through
  8 2019-11-14T01:44:54  <sipa> no, i probably won't be
  9 2019-11-14T01:45:19  <sipa> or rather, i'll be here the whole hour but only intermittently
 10 2019-11-14T01:56:31  *** soju has quit IRC
 11 2019-11-14T02:00:55  <aj> #startmeeting
 12 2019-11-14T02:00:55  <lightningbot> Meeting started Thu Nov 14 02:00:55 2019 UTC.  The chair is aj. Information about MeetBot at http://wiki.debian.org/MeetBot.
 13 2019-11-14T02:00:55  <lightningbot> Useful Commands: #action #agreed #help #info #idea #link #topic.
 14 2019-11-14T02:01:08  *** Tibo has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 15 2019-11-14T02:01:38  <aj> hey all, might be an abbreviated session this time
 16 2019-11-14T02:02:37  *** soju has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 17 2019-11-14T02:05:45  <instagibbs> hi
 18 2019-11-14T02:06:09  <fanquake> hi
 19 2019-11-14T02:09:12  <instagibbs> did we run out of topics for this week or am i disconnected
 20 2019-11-14T02:09:58  <aj> doesn't seem like anyone's got any questions
 21 2019-11-14T02:10:01  <fanquake> instagibbs I'm not seeing any chatter either
 22 2019-11-14T02:11:03  <instagibbs> were they any lingering disccusions from last QA? I missed t
 23 2019-11-14T02:13:12  <aj> there was a fair bit of discussion about upgrade stuff -- OP_SUCCESS and annex things
 24 2019-11-14T02:16:54  <aj> there's also a few suggestions/PRs along the lines of improving motivation/rationale
 25 2019-11-14T02:17:45  <instagibbs> i found the rationale helped a lot with disambiguating the meaning of the text, especially successx section
 26 2019-11-14T02:17:55  <instagibbs> might mean a slight cleanup warranted
 27 2019-11-14T02:21:17  <aj> yeah, PRs welcome :)
 28 2019-11-14T02:21:38  <instagibbs> the only thing bothering me really is the definition of codeseparator_position, if we get 4GB+ blocks it is undefined what happens when the marked position is beyond 2^32 :P
 29 2019-11-14T02:22:13  <instagibbs> now that scripts are unbounded in size, only implicitly bounded by blockweight
 30 2019-11-14T02:22:22  <aj> we already bumped that from 16 bits when the 10k script length limit got dropped
 31 2019-11-14T02:28:15  <aj> anyway, big blocks would be a hard fork, so if we made it more of a hard fork we could add another spend_type bit to allow for encoding the codesep pos via compactsize (if 64bit numbers are enough for you) or similar
 32 2019-11-14T02:28:42  <aj> or we could reintroduce a script size limit that's more than 4M but less than 4G
 33 2019-11-14T02:31:15  <instagibbs> yes was not a particularly pressing/serious concern
 34 2019-11-14T02:32:48  <aj> any more progress with the multisig tree jupyter notebook?
 35 2019-11-14T02:33:42  <instagibbs> no sorry :) it works, dies a combinatoric death at 21-of-30
 36 2019-11-14T02:34:31  <instagibbs> vast majority of the computation is computing the musig pubkeys, someone noted that the tweak could just be the superset of all n signers, might bring down the computation
 37 2019-11-14T02:38:17  <aj> any thoughts on whether it makes more sense to stay below ~30 signers, or go unaccountable with threshold-musig, or use checksigadd or similar script?
 38 2019-11-14T02:39:57  <aj> ah, i see there's a magazine article where samson mow talks about having "hundreds" of functionaries
 39 2019-11-14T02:41:13  <instagibbs> there's a scheme for quasi-accountability, but I'd have to defer to andytoshi for that
 40 2019-11-14T02:41:34  *** HighOnBtc has quit IRC
 41 2019-11-14T02:41:58  *** HighOnBtc has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 42 2019-11-14T02:42:31  <aj> i guess if you have that many, one approach might be to group them into sets of 5 and allow unaccountable 4/5 musig between them, and do checksigadd to require 18/20 groups to sign or similar for between 72 and 92 of 100 multisig
 43 2019-11-14T02:43:37  <aj> there's a scheme where the honest participants in the multisig can track who the other co-signers were, so long as you have some honest participants
 44 2019-11-14T02:44:49  <instagibbs> anyways, that's Future Work with threshold
 45 2019-11-14T02:46:25  <aj> okay, about time for me to put the laptop away, so i guess we'll call it
 46 2019-11-14T02:46:29  <aj> #endmeeting
 47 2019-11-14T02:46:29  <lightningbot> Meeting ended Thu Nov 14 02:46:29 2019 UTC.  Information about MeetBot at http://wiki.debian.org/MeetBot . (v 0.1.4)
 48 2019-11-14T02:46:29  <lightningbot> Minutes:        http://www.erisian.com.au/meetbot/taproot-bip-review/2019/taproot-bip-review.2019-11-14-02.00.html
 49 2019-11-14T02:46:29  <lightningbot> Minutes (text): http://www.erisian.com.au/meetbot/taproot-bip-review/2019/taproot-bip-review.2019-11-14-02.00.txt
 50 2019-11-14T02:46:29  <lightningbot> Log:            http://www.erisian.com.au/meetbot/taproot-bip-review/2019/taproot-bip-review.2019-11-14-02.00.log.html
 51 2019-11-14T02:47:10  <aj> might send out a poll to see if there's some other time people would prefer for a second q&a
 52 2019-11-14T02:49:50  *** HighOnBtc has quit IRC
 53 2019-11-14T02:55:45  *** HighOnBtc has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 54 2019-11-14T03:09:37  *** HighOnBtc has quit IRC
 55 2019-11-14T04:36:31  *** soju has quit IRC
 56 2019-11-14T05:44:32  *** rottensox has quit IRC
 57 2019-11-14T08:33:05  *** Tibo has quit IRC
 58 2019-11-14T08:55:01  *** b10c has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 59 2019-11-14T09:01:00  *** sipa has quit IRC
 60 2019-11-14T09:01:12  *** sipa has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 61 2019-11-14T10:51:39  *** orfeas has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 62 2019-11-14T11:21:19  *** orfeas has quit IRC
 63 2019-11-14T11:35:10  *** andytoshi has quit IRC
 64 2019-11-14T11:46:10  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 65 2019-11-14T12:19:04  <elichai2> instagibbs: well in practice you won't use the python impl but libsecp so it should be ~10X faster I think
 66 2019-11-14T12:37:17  *** orfeas has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 67 2019-11-14T12:48:19  *** orfeas has quit IRC
 68 2019-11-14T12:49:40  *** orfeas has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 69 2019-11-14T12:51:11  *** jonatack has quit IRC
 70 2019-11-14T12:51:14  *** chm-diederichs has quit IRC
 71 2019-11-14T12:51:16  *** cdecker has quit IRC
 72 2019-11-14T12:51:16  *** nothingmuch has quit IRC
 73 2019-11-14T12:53:46  *** jonatack has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 74 2019-11-14T12:53:46  *** chm-diederichs has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 75 2019-11-14T12:53:46  *** nothingmuch has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 76 2019-11-14T12:53:46  *** cdecker has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 77 2019-11-14T13:47:02  *** davterra has quit IRC
 78 2019-11-14T13:51:50  *** pinheadmz has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 79 2019-11-14T14:03:14  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has quit IRC
 80 2019-11-14T14:03:58  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 81 2019-11-14T14:18:36  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 82 2019-11-14T14:22:40  *** pyskl has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 83 2019-11-14T14:23:31  *** pyskl has quit IRC
 84 2019-11-14T14:23:31  *** pyskl has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 85 2019-11-14T14:27:19  <pyskl> #bitcoin-taproot-sg3
 86 2019-11-14T14:27:25  <pyskl> #bitcoin-taproot-sg3
 87 2019-11-14T14:27:59  <pyskl> omg there's a return code in the text i copied, ignore me
 88 2019-11-14T14:34:43  *** davterra has quit IRC
 89 2019-11-14T14:47:01  *** rottensox has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 90 2019-11-14T14:48:58  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 91 2019-11-14T14:59:01  *** orfeas has quit IRC
 92 2019-11-14T15:22:33  *** davterra has quit IRC
 93 2019-11-14T15:23:15  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 94 2019-11-14T15:56:26  *** orfeas has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 95 2019-11-14T16:09:37  *** kabaum has quit IRC
 96 2019-11-14T16:18:36  *** orfeas has quit IRC
 97 2019-11-14T16:20:49  *** pyskl has quit IRC
 98 2019-11-14T16:25:20  *** pyskl has joined ##taproot-bip-review
 99 2019-11-14T16:25:47  *** pyskl has joined ##taproot-bip-review
100 2019-11-14T17:39:38  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has quit IRC
101 2019-11-14T18:05:33  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has joined ##taproot-bip-review
102 2019-11-14T18:21:32  *** evoskuil[m] has quit IRC
103 2019-11-14T18:47:37  *** rottensox has quit IRC
104 2019-11-14T19:07:38  *** pinheadmz has quit IRC
105 2019-11-14T19:32:35  *** pinheadmz has joined ##taproot-bip-review
106 2019-11-14T19:59:38  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has quit IRC
107 2019-11-14T20:35:49  *** pinheadmz has quit IRC
108 2019-11-14T21:14:44  *** davterra has quit IRC
109 2019-11-14T21:15:06  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
110 2019-11-14T21:18:43  *** pinheadmz has joined ##taproot-bip-review
111 2019-11-14T21:34:28  *** pinheadmz has quit IRC
112 2019-11-14T21:48:40  *** pyskl has quit IRC
113 2019-11-14T22:22:27  *** pinheadmz has joined ##taproot-bip-review
114 2019-11-14T22:37:37  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has joined ##taproot-bip-review
115 2019-11-14T22:50:22  *** davterra has quit IRC
116 2019-11-14T22:53:55  *** davterra has joined ##taproot-bip-review
117 2019-11-14T23:00:33  *** Chris_Stewart_5 has quit IRC
118 2019-11-14T23:02:26  *** b10c has quit IRC